Skip to main content

Acorn Lodge Shropshire
 
Acorn Lodge Shropshire   Acorn Lodge Shropshire

Guest Book Testimonials for Acorn Lodge Shropshire

 

 

We like to think that what sets a holiday with us apart from other self-catering holidays is the personal touch. Some of our guests have been coming back to us for more than 20 years.  But don't just take our word for it - here are some comments from our Visitors' Book. 

 

Most Recent Testimonials  

Very relaxing short break, Extremely comfortable

Neil and Eric - York - October

 

Thank you again Dorothy and Clive for your wonderful hospitality and all those little touches that guarantee a great stay here at Acorn Lodge. We love the peace and quiet, views everything ! Good luck with the building.

Peter and Katie - Bournville - October

 

Lovely well equipped Lodge and thanks you for the very nice preserves. Hope Dorothy makes a good recovery.

Pat - Cumbria - Susan & Raper - Canada - September

 

We had a wonderful welcome on our second visit. Many thanks Dorothy and Clive for keeping everything in tip-top order. Looking forward to 2018

Barbara & Bernard - Chesterfield - September

 

Thank you Dorothy and Clive for providing such a peaceful haven. Everything we could need and more. Always a delight to visit Acorn Lodge.

Neil & Christine- Jan & Tom - Rotherham - August/September

 

Thanks Dorothy and Clive for yet another nice holiday, hope to be back.

Bob and Myra - Norwich - August 2017

 

Thoroughly enjoyed our fourth visit. We actually found new places to see, lovely area - so peaceful and relaxing. As always Dorothy and Clive made us feel so welcome. The lodge is immaculate and the welcome pack - so thoughtful.

Shelley Family - Wolverhampton - August 2017

 

Thank you Dorothy & Clive for another great holiday. This Lodge brings us total relaxation. Take Care. See you next year.

Sue and Steve - Northampton - July 2017

 

Thank you so much for another wonderful holiday. The lodge and views are stunning, will be back!!

Shelagh & Honer - Merseyside - July 2017

 

Thank you to Dorothy & Clive for another splendid holiday where the tensions melt away(we nearly melted ourselves in that heat wave!) Such a happy time again amongst the “blue remembered hills”

Jane and Marie - Ellesmere Port and Ruthin - June/July 2017

 

Although the weather did its best to dampen our spirits in week one it was still very special to return to Acorn Lodge. The comforts at the Lodge was a welcome retreat from the rain on the wet windy days we had and the surrounding scenery is out standing in all weathers. Our second week warmed up considerably and we were able to sit out and enjoy all the bird song etc. As usual the welcome from Dorothy and Clive was as warm as ever. Roll on our 2018 visit.

Graham and Margaret - St Andrews - June 2017

 

Re-visiting favourite haunts. Lovely views towards the Malverns etc. etc.

Alan, Barbara & Johnathan - North Yorkshire - June 2017


We've had a wonderful week. Don't want to leave. Thank you Dorothy & Clive for everything.

Audrey, Jackie & Wayne - Darlington - May 2017

 

A wonderful 2 weeks. Thank you once again to Dorothy & Clive, it means a great deal to us to have Acorn Lodge to escape to. Already counting the days to next time.

Neil and Christine - Rotherham - May 2017


Truly wonderful find, everything great. Thank you Dorothy & Clive for a nice holiday.

Ruth and Michael - Spalding - May 2017

 

Wonderful short break. Hope to be back soon!

Steve & Alison - Solihull - March 2017

 

Thank you so much for making it possible for Mum to stay in her favourite spot on earth. You are stars!

Jean & Jane, Kate - Ellesmere Port - March 2017

 

Thank you for looking after us so well. Everything we could have wished for and your friendly welcome was the icing on the cake.

Richard, Jeanette, Elaine - Cardigan - March 2017

 

What a wonderful cabin! We have loved our three days here and hope to be back. Thank you so much - it has felt like home.

Richard, Amanda, Lara, Julian - Englefield Green - February 2017

 

Thanks for everything, Clive and Dorothy! We had a super week. Loved the walk!

Wallace family - Lanak - October 2016

 

Everything was fabulous as usual thanks for a fantastic week. Hope to see you again next year.

Derek & Diane - Stafford - October 2016

 

Lovely place to stay , everything has been thought of from the welcome (and those lovely scones) to everyday comfort that you need. Thank you to Clive and Dorothy

Julie and John - St.Albans - September 2016

 

The welcome, care and attention of our hosts was wonderful the weather was a bit iffy but 4 days of sun made the hills and dales sparkle with colour. Heifers & sheep were peaceful and happy birds enjoyed catching our attention, what more could we do but book another week next year to enjoy!

Barbara & Bernard - Chesterfield - September 2016

 

Beautiful weather for almost all our stay, thanks again to Dorothy & Clive for all their kindness. Acorn Lodge and its hosts tick all the boxes. Fantastic as always.

Neil and Christine - Rotherham - September 2016

 

Another brilliant holiday, made extra special by your spoiling and kindness. Many thanks.

Shelagh & Honor Liverpool - August 2016

 

Thanks once again for a lovely holiday, We will be back A.S.A.P.

Bob & Myra - Norwich - August 2016

 

A lovely break, thanks to you both for making Mum so happy in this lovely place

J & J Miller (again) Elesmere Port - August 2016

 

Cabin is as wonderful as ever Many thanks Dorothy & Clive for a lovely few days

Brian & Lesley - Wirral - August 2016

 

Thank you Dorothy & Clive, We had a lovely week. See you Next Year

The Shelley Family - Wolverhampton - August 2016

 

Fantastic Lodge - Fantastic Hosts - Fantastic weather. Thank you, hope to be back

Valerie & Chris - Bournemouth - July 2016

 

Thank you Dorothy and Clive for another stay in the Lodge which was “Perfect” looking forward to next year.


Sue and Steve - Northampton - July 2016

 

Many, many thanks Dorothy and Clive for another wonderful week. We love it here, will be back soon!

Shelagh & Honor - Merseyside - July 2016

 

We had a lovely week in this very comfortable and well equipped accommodation. We loved watching the birds!

Tom, Gill & Daphne - Macclesfield - July 2016

 

Sure, a little bit of heaven fell from out of the Sky one day.... and landed here. Thank you both so much for everything- from both of us. But - its so hard to leave!


J. Miller Ellesmere Port - M.Wilcox Ruthin June 2016

 

We keep returning. That must say it all! Our relations who joined us for a few days thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Thank You Dorothy and Clive

Neil and Christine -Rotherham - May

 

Very satisfactory visit. Thank you very  much. Hope to come again.

Gillian, Paddy. Whiltshire - May


Thank you so much, Lovely cottage, Lovely weather, Perfect hosts. We will be back 

Bob & Myra - Norwich - May

It has been lovely to be back at Acorn Lodge. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for your warm hospitality and thoughtfulness. Our friends who visited for a walk, loved it! We look forward to our next visit. We had snow this morning! Sad to go.

Katie & Peter  - Bournville -  April 

 

Thank you Dorothy and Clive for having us here to spend the St.George’s Day weekend at the finest holiday accommodation in England

 Another Miller family visit -  Ellesmere Port - April 

 

What a treasure of a place!  Thank you for your warm welcome and hospitality. We will be come again.

Michelle, Wendy -  London  - April

 

We couldn't wait to get here and enjoy all Acorn Lodge has to offer. As always a wonderful welcome from Dorothy and Clive. Thank you for all your generosity. The weather has been very good bringing out the usual feathered visitors plus beautiful Red Kites.

Neil, Christine and Sarah - March 2016

 

Fabulous long weekend. Accommodation first class, everything provided and well thought through. A lovely couple Dorothy and Clive. Thank you for your hospitality.

Richard, Sandra, Christian & Sophia White - March 2016

 

Thank you for once again providing us with warm, welcoming place to relax and unwind and avoid the Christmas bustle. We will be back

Anne - Banbury,  Stephen  - Texas    -    Christmas and  New Year 2015

 

So good to be back at Acorn Lodge. Once again we have had such a relaxing wonderful holiday and the weather has been fantastic. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for evertything...You make this place so special. We will be back!!

Graham and Margaret - St Andrews, Fife - September/October

 

What a wonderful place and Dorothy and Clive are a wonderful couple. Thank you both!

Derek, Diane & Sue - Stafford - October

 

Such a wonderful break. We are so grateful to Dorothy and Clive for providing us with this sanctuary from everyday life. Roll on 2016 and our next visit!

Those Millers again - Elesmere Port - November

 

Thank you for a very relaxing fortnight at Acorn Lodge. As soon as we turn into the driveway our spirits lift. The lodge is superb and such a warm welcome from Dorothy & Clive, nothing is too much trouble for them. Great fun watching the birds, livestock and a squirrel swinging in the trees.  

   Christine and Neil - Rotherham  - September

 

Thank you very much for the use of your wonderful lodge and hospitality. Will certainly be coming back in the future. Hopefully there may be a few more badgers around. Thanks once again.

David, Jane & Kate - Yorkshire  - August

 

Thank you so very much Dorothy and Clive for everything, the holiday has been just what Mum needed. We will be working now towards another stay before the year ends. Thank You

Millers again - plural again. August 

 

A most relaxing few days. Wonderful place, wonderful weather. Now back to the real world! Thank you Dorothy
and Clive for your warm welcome.


Shelley family - Wolverhampton.- July 2015


Many, many thanks Dorothy and Clive for the wonderful warm welcome. Home made treats, as always our stay
with you has been perfect. We will be back again soon.


Shelagh & Honor - Merseyside - July 2015


Thank you Dorothy and Clive for another lovely stay, also once again enjoyed the badger watching. Will see you next year for another stay in your superb lodge, total relaxation.


Sue & Steve - Northampton - July 2015


Thanks for another lovely holiday and your usual warm welcome. Accommodation better than ever.


Robin, Di & Juliet - East Sussex - July 2015

 

Once again Clive and Dorothy thank you for a wonderful cabin you provide and hospitality all superb. Well done. Thank you also Jane.  

Marie - North Wales  - June 2015

 

What can I say except a big “thank you” to Dorothy and Clive for this fabulous place to relax and unwind after a rough few months. Wonderful people and wonderful place.

Miller again (singular this time!)  Jane - Cheshire - June 2015


We  have enjoyed our first stay at Acorn Lodge. Everything was beautifully set up, and you even arranged lovely weather. Views and birds superb.Thank You.            

Shelagh and Paddy  - June 2015

 

Thank you once again Dorothy & Clive. A lovely holiday, Scones, preserves & Badger walk highly recommended. We’ve visited new places and Stockton Bury Gardens worth a visit.

Neil, Christine and Sarah - May 2015

 

A wonderful welcome from the amazing hosts. A simply perfect week.

Keith, Pat, Wayne & Jackie - May 2015

 

Thanks for the lovely weeks, very comfortable!


Elly, Harm, Dick, Wil - The Netherlands - May 2015


We had a wonderful stay in Acorn Lodge. Beautiful weather and fantastic walks. Thanks for the lovely scones and the warm welcome.


Anne, Hetty, Hemp, Tilly. Netherlands - May 2015


Thank you again Dorothy and Clive - bless you for having such a wonderful place to stay. The weather has been glorious - the views superb and the hosts the best in the world!!


Peter and Katie - Bournville - April 2014


Thanks again for letting us stay. Oliver had a lovely time and doesn’t want to go home! See you again soon .

 

Love Dave, Larna & Oliver xxx Southport - April 2015


As always a warm welcome from Dorothy and Clive. Acorn Lodge continues to excel with such good hosts. We’ve had fair weather this week with beautiful star lit nights. A lovely start to our 2015 Shropshire season. Thank you.


Neil and Christine - Rotherham - March 2015

 

Really welcoming couple, comfortable and cosy, enjoyed our night. Definitely be back again.


Karl & Sam - January 2015


Lovely stay in a wonderful cottage, topped off with a pheasant on the 3.20 table! Will come back next year.


Jackson family - Texas, Banbury & Ludlow - December/January 2015


What a find! Acorn Lodge is thoughtfully designed, well equipped and very comfortable, and we could not have wished for a warmer welcome. Our first visit but not, we hope, our last.


Jenny & Tony - Sale, Cheshire - December 2014

 

Thank you both Dorothy and Clive. A perfect holiday again. We just love it.

Jean and Jane - Ellesmere - November 2014

 

A wonderful, wonderful cabin loved by all, down to Dorothy and Clive. I'm so at peace to be here after my recent bereavement. Thank you as always and to Jean and Jane.

Marie - N.Wales - November 2014

 

It could not be better!

Family Wassink - Holland - November 2014

 

Had a lovely holiday. Thank you for such a lovely holiday home.


Anne - St. Albans - October 2014


Had a lovely holiday, it was very much needed. Once again lovely accommodation. It was great to see Dorothy and Clive again after 2 years. Hope to be back again.


John - Keven & Liz - Norfolk - October 2014


Wonderful break, brilliant accommodation and a lovely couple as our hosts. We recommend a visit to Bennetts End for a good meal.


John & Doreen - Bob & Mary - Essex - October 2014

This is our first visit to Acorn Lodge and we can see why everyone keeps returning! Everything was made so easy and welcoming Thank you Clive and Dorothy.

Chris and Mike - Taunton - September 2014

 

We have had two lovely weeks of glorious weather in such a superb setting. The hospitality of Dorothy and Clive make us feel so lucky to be their guests. We have enjoyed sights old and new thanks to their wealth of knowledge of the area. Thank You.


Neil and Christine - Rotherham - September 2014

 

Everything 100% great design and brilliant interior. Lovely and peaceful, great sky on a cloudless night.


Shirley and Arnold - Littlehampton - September 2014


Another lovely week and good weather a bonus. Thank you for such a lovely comfortable place to stay.
Congratulations on your Gold Award. Well deserved.


Mary and Pam - Kent - September 2014

 

We have loved our week in your beautifully situated and well appointed lodge. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for your warm welcome, time and invaluable advise. Particularly appreciated the excellent instructions for all the electrical equipment. - I am usually very nervous about using different appliances!!


Lesley and Peter - Kenilworth - August 2014

 

Thank you Dorothy and Clive. We have had a lovely time. Will be back next year with Malcolm’s mother
Thanks again.


Sue and Malcolm - Tettenhall - August 2014

 

We have enjoyed our visit to your lovely peace haven. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for your wonderful welcome. The scones, Jam and eggs were a nice surprise.


Audrey & Ray Rayleigh, Essex. - August 2014


And another lovely holiday to look back on. Thank you once again Dorothy and Clive for your hospitality (we did enjoy our card! evening) Take care both of you! Hope to see you again.


Mary & Douglas - Joan and Denis - Nottingham - August 2014


Acorn Lodge met every expectation - a lovely place to stay. 2 more badgers next time please

Christine - Sevenoaks - Rosemary & Alan - Shornbrook, Beds - August 2014

 

In spite of Iain’s back, we have had a wonderful week with weather to match. Thank you so much for your welcome and attentiveness. Acorn Lodge has been designed and fitted out so well. We have had a thoroughly pleasant and comfortable stay.

Anne and Iain - Axminster - August 2014

 

Very much enjoyed my morning tours with Clive round the garden, the chickens houses and the printing room.

Francis, Akemi, Sam and Alex - Oxford July 2014

 

Thank you Dorothy and live for another great stay see you next year

Sue and Steve - Northampton July 2014

 

Thank you so much for a wonderful week and thanks for getting the weather right. Perfect in every way

Shelagh and Honer - Bootle July 2014

 

What can we say after 22 years, holidays in this small piece of heaven? Only that each time it seems more wonderfuland harder to leave. Good luck and good weather to all our successors!

Jean & Jane Miller Cheshire June/July 2014

 

I so enjoyed every moment of the time I spent here

Marie Ruthin, North Wales June 2014

 

What a wonderful 2 weeks we have spent here!! Acorn Lodge is superb and the surrounding scenery is stunning. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for your warm welcome and attentiveness during our stay. We would love to return sometime in the future.

Graham and Margaret - St.Andrews Fife June 2014 ( Have now booked for 2015)

 

Another lovely visit to Acorn Lodge. As before so very comfortable with everything in perfect condition, everything thought of. We could not have wished for anything nicer.

Robin, Di and Juliet - East Sussex June 2014

 

First class hosts and accommodation. Such attention to detail makes holidays here a cut above the rest. Great fun watching the woodpeckers feeding on the bird table.

Christine and Neil - May 2014

 

A lovely cosy holiday home. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for all your kindness.

Ron, Ali and Del - May 2014

 

It’s been so good to return to Acorn Lodge. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for all your kindness and hospitality. It’s such a peaceful spot with terrific scenery.

Katie and Peter - Bournville April 2014

 

Enjoyed our week, loved the scenery and the birds. Very peaceful and comfortable cottage.

Judy and George - Frinton on Sea April 2014

 

Lovely peaceful week with wondrous views.

Diane and John - Berkshire April 2014

 

Thank you for a lovely week in your beautiful cottage a warm welcome, the scones, jam and eggs were great. Lovely area to relax in. Clive gave us so much information on where to go. We will be back!

Pat and Keith - Devon - March 2014



As always the lodge is superb. Also thank you Dorothy and Clive whose kindness and thoughtful generosity were much appreciated.

Neil and Christine - Rotherham March 2014



Lovely cottage, lousy weather. So peaceful, good time was had by all of us.

David Margaret and Barbara - March 2014

 

Your Gold award well deserved - a well thought out self catering lodge in a beautiful situation.

Joan and John - Rutland - March 2014

 

Wonderful cottage, everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We will be back soon. Thanks


Anne, Stephen and Val, Banbury ,Texas, Ludlow

New year 2014

 


Dorothy and Clive another superb snatched few days, looking forward to next year. Thank you both.

Jean and Jane - Ellesmere Port - November 2013


Thank you Dorothy and Cl.ive for a lovely stay, House well equipped and immaculate and beautifully situated. Too much to see in 3 days! A special thank you from Max who loved his egg collecting and chats with Clive.


Pamalar, Richard, Alexandra and Max 

Tunbridge Wells - October 2013

 

A most relaxing week in this gloriously situated and well appointed Cabin, We’ve had some lovely walks and have appreciated the birds and sheep too!


Lucy, Bob, Lyn & Derek - Hampshire - October 2013

 

A very restful week, weather mild and dry, countryside so beautiful. After a very sad year in our lives it was a very welcome holiday! Loved the birds and hope the pheasant survives!! Cottage 1st class! Best wishes to Dorothy and Clive. Hope we can come again.


Sylvia and Michael - Pembrokeshire - September 2013

 

Two lovely relaxing weeks of Shropshire magic here at Acorn Lodge, Thanks once again to Dorothy and Clive


Neil, Christine and Sarah - Rotherham - Sept 2013

 

Another fantastic holiday in our home from home! many thanks.

Jeremy, Chris, Richard and Hazel - Japan - Aug 2013


Accommodation really smashing, the best we’ve ever stayed in over more than 30 years of self catering. Area outstanding. Thank you Clive and Dorothy for being so welcoming and caring especially when we had car problems. We hope to see you again next year.

Robin and Di - East Sussex - Aug 2013

Third time lucky, off with the wellies , fantastic weather to go with fantastic accommodation. Thanks again Dorothy and Clive for a lovely visit. Good to see you both looking well.

Sue and Steve - South Northants - July 2013

 

A lovely peaceful week at Acorn Lodge, Beautiful weather. A very enjoyable day at Bromyard Gala with our Classic car. Thank you also to Dorothy and Clive for their hospitality.

Neil & Christine - July 2013


Good rest, Lodge first class, could not have chosen better.

Elieen Tony & Kwan -June 2013

 

Glad to see you both again and glad your holidays went so well, Thanks for everything, as usual a wonderful holiday.

Shelagh & Honer - June 2013


Those 14 days have passed like 14 hours again. So much to do, so little time! Thank you Dorothy & Clive for everthing.

Jean & Jane again - Elesmere Port - June 2013

 

Weather and accommodation perfect enjoyed our holiday.

Eileen & Maureen - Lancashire - June 2013

 

Once again wev’d had a great holiday The Lodge is superb as usual. Thank you Dorothy and Clive lovely to see you both again.

Barbara & John - Cheshire - June 2013

 

Rain, Wind & Snow! but still enjoyed our lovely week in this delightful place, lovely to see you both again, take care, best wishes as always.

Joan & Denis Mary & Douglas - May 2013

 

We enjoyed our stay very much very nice to meet you both thank you.

Mike and Sylvia - May 2013

 

Could have done with warmer weather but the accommodation, comfort and welcome contributed to our enjoyment. Loved Ludlow Off to the Spring Festival now.

Sue and Family - May 2013

 

Dear Dorothy and Clive, Thank you so much for all your kindness it was lovely to be here again in your lovely lodge. The scones and preserves were great. Love and Best wishes Shelagh and Honer

 

A wonderful experience a delightful setting, everything perfect! Many thanks from us all.

Chris, Alison, Robert and Mary - Gloucester - May 2013


Well we did come back! to this lovely countryside, splendid walks, beautiful weather the whole of the week and always the comfortable Acorn Lodge and our attentive hosts!

Hope and Dorothy - East Sussex - May2013

 

We came for a weeks contemplation following retirement and found it. The lodge lived up to our expectations and more.

Alan and Marguerite - Sutton Coldfield - April 2013

 

A Superb place to stay- comfortable, warm and extremely well appointed in stunning countryside.
Will do my best to return sometime. Thanks very much.


Alison - Somerset - April 2013

 

We tried to find something wrong but with no luck at all. Excellent accommodation and most friendly hosts.


Janet and Peter - Norfolk - April 2013

 

A very welcoming cottage and every comfort, Much appreciated.


Brenda, Vincent and Gillian - West Sussex - April 2013

 

Snow showers and sunshine have added to the magic Dorothy and Clive provide at Acorn Lodge. A lovely week with log fires , fine food from the local eaters. Thank You.

Christine Neil and Sarah - March 2013

 

Exactly as described! Thank you

Mike and Ann - Bridport - February 2013

 

A lovely and much needed break, cold outside but snug inside and clean. Sunny skies. At last we’ve
seen the view! A glorious place. Thank you.

Margaret and Heather - December 2012

 

Very nice place, well thought out. Enjoyed immensely. Luckily we had very good weather. Many
thanks.

 

Carol, Dave, Pauline and Philip - Burton-on-Trent November 2012

 

A lovely weekend, despite lots of rain and wind, but Sunday morning sunshine and nuthatcher for
breakfast ( to watch, not to eat?) Made up for it all. Very cosy cabin, the attention to detail is second
to none. Thank you very much.

M & G Prescott - Manchester - November 2012

 

Dorothy and Clive have made us feel very welcome. Acorn Lodge is a wonderful place to stay for so many reasons.The location and views are stunning, the facilities are excellent with every creature comfort. Attention to every detail. We lacked for nothing!! Many thanks!!

 

Paul and Louise - November 2012

 

What a lovely place to spend a holiday. For instance my brother being able to go and pick the eggs and as a family would recommend the Kremlin Inn Clee Hill

Jamie and family - Seaford - November 2012

 

What can we add? Highlight of our stay this time was rising before dawn on a clear morning to see Orion standing bright and sharp over Tenbury Wells with the morning star handing over the Malverns. Every time we go back wemiss it more. Thank you Dorothy Clive and Mark for a fantastic 2 weeks at the Lodge

Jane and Jean - Ellesmere Port - October 2012

 

Once again to join my friends, we were blessed with superb sunshine to show every thing at its best. Greatly appreciated the opportunity to return. Thank you Clive and Dorothy

Marie - N.Wales - October 2012

 

Many thanks for a another lovely week at Acorn Lodge. Your hospitality, the peace and quiet all helps re charge our batteries. Hope your holiday is as good as ours has been.

Neil, Christine and Sarah - S.Yorks - September 2012

 

Our second holiday at Acorn Lodge which is so warm and comfortable, greatly appreciate in the cold wet weather.Thank you Dorothy and Clive for the delicious scones jam and cream and lemon curd.

Steve and Joyce - Norfolk - September 2012

 

We had a most enjoyable stay. Hope to return one day.

Marg and Geoff September 2012

 

Wonderful relaxing holiday Acorn Lodge is perfect in every way. Thank you. For your welcome, scones, eggs and jam, delicious!

Ros and Terry - September 2012

 

Another lovely weeks holiday. Thank you Dorothy and Clive. Hope both continue to enjoy good health and well being.Enjoy your special celebrations that is to come. Our very best wishes to you both.

Joan and Denis, Mary and Douglas - September 2012

 

Thank you for a lovely holiday accommodation excellent.

Anne - St. Albands - August 2012

 

We had a lovely stay as always. Bed really comfy. Glad to see Clive looking so well after his op. Hope Dorothy gets on ok. Hope to see you next year.

Kevin and Liz - Norfolk - August 2012

 

Lovely holiday, weather not very good. We enjoyed our stay. Dorothy recovering, Clive looks well.

Joan and John - Kings Lynn - August 2012

 

Never have we met with such a kindly and attentive welcome, such superb s/c accommodation, such beautiful views and countryside as we have found here at Acorn Lodge- Our first visit - Reveniemus!

Dorothy and Hope - Sussex - August 2012

 

Wonderful Acorn Lodge - Wonderful area and weather xx Thank You.

Beryl, Mary and Ron - July 2012

 

Thank you Dorothy and Clive for another very enjoyable holiday. Weather not too good but who cares when staying in such a lovely lodge. Get well soon and see you next year.

Sue and Steve - Northants - July 2012

 

Our sentiments exactly! What a superb gem this is. Thanks very much to you all for your help and kindness. We wish you both a speedy recovery back to full health. See you again soon.

Shelagh and Honer - Bootle - June 2012

 

How can we add to what we have already said? South Shropshire and the Marches is our spiritual home. Thank you Dorothy, Clive and Mark for all your kindness to us.

Jean and Jane - Ellesmore Port - June 2012

 

Came to join two dear friends for a few days and have been absolutely delighted with everything the lodge has to offer and more. Far out way my expectations Jane and Jean were so right, a piece of heaven. Thank you Dorothy and Clive.

Marie - North Wales - June 2012

 

Top class accommodation complete with a tranquil setting and warm hospitality. A very enjoyable holiday. Thank you

Jennie & Peter - Knutsford - June 2012

 

Perfect accommodation in idyllic setting surrounded by beautiful countryside. The birds have provided constant song. Thank you so much for your kindness.

Jennifer and Jack South west Scotland May 2012

 

Thank you for everything - All needs provided for. Hope Mr Shakespeare recovers well. kindest regards to all.

Jean & Russell Leeds May 2012

 

Delightful week in a beautiful part of the world. Superb accommodation, warmest welcome wish we could return, sincere thanks and best wishes especially to Clive.

David and Dianne Australia May 2012

 

Lovely accommodation, pity about the weather. Hope Clive’s op goes well

Edith and Alan April 2012

 

Thank you Dorothy and Clive another lovely holiday in your superb lodge. We hope to be back

Mary & Douglas, Joan & Denis Nottinghamshire April 2012

 

Our second visit and Sarah’s first. Another lovely relaxing week in a superb setting. Thank you Dorothy and Clive for scrummy scones, lemon curd and woodland walk.

Neil, Christine and Sarah Yorkshire March 2012

 

2nd visit- We were the lst people to stay in the new lodge two and a half years ago.

Ruth and Warren Suffolk March 2012

 

Lovely stay, thank you very much, we hope to be able to come again. Hope all goes well with Clive’s op on his knees.

Mavis and Stan Chester March 2012

 

Another wonderful stay in home from home! Cannot praise Acorn Lodge and the Shakespeare’s enough. Thank You.

Claire & Woody again! November 2011

 

We too celebrate a birthday here - our perfect place Many Thanks to Dorothy and Clive for making it happen for us. 

Jean and Jane again! November 2011

 

Thanks for a really lovely little holiday we hope to be back when there is less fog and rain. One of the most comfortable places we have stayed in and celebrate a birthday on 11.11.11. 

Margaret & Heather Wales October 2011

 

Wonderful scones on arrival, lots of superb walks excellent accommodation in all respects and very attractive owners in Dorothy & Clive A peaceful and delightful Autumn break.

Brenda & Mervyn Exeter October 2011 

 

Our first visit to your lovely lodge. Hopefully it will not be our last. The lodge is wonderful also the hospitality. The scones preserves and eggs were superb. Many thanks to Clive for a very interesting visit to the Church and local area Many Many thanks Dorothy and Clive 

Mary & Douglas Joan & Denis Nottinghamshire September 2011

 

Our first visit but due to the fantastic facilities and the wonderful welcome and treatment we received from Dorothy and Clive it certainly will not be the last. The area is picturesque and the accommodation is the best we have stayed in. Many thanks Dorothy and Clive.

Brian & Sandra Fleetwood September 2011

 

We’ve had great weather a lovely week Acorn Lodge is a great haven and a little bit of heaven. We’ll be back once again. Thank you both!!

Katie & Peter - Ann & Mick B’ham -Malvern Septeber 2011

 

Excellent cabin and Dorothy & Clive very helpful and kind. Hope to return next year. Just what the doctor ordered. Many thanks 

Aileen & Gillian Notts September 2011

 

Acorn Lodge is a little Gem. Dorothy and Clive have mastered the art of self catering. Wonderful view,  Atmosphere relaxing and soul restoring. Thank you both.

Angela & Frank Victoria B.C. Canada August 2011

 

"The cabin and the area just keeps getting better. Can’t express how much we love it all. Great touring weather and the Tenbury Show was on top form too. Did our best to cram 10 days into the week"

Miller back again! E.Port Cheshire August 2011

 

"Had a great time, weather was wonderful, saw 5 badgers! Our son came for a few days with his partner to reminisce also G’ma Reece thoroughly enjoyed her stay."

Brian & Lesley Wirral August 2011

 

"Great Lodge, views and wildlife which set us up for a great holiday, thank you Dorothy and Clive for making us most welcome."

Sue & Steve Northants July 2011

 

"Had a lovely time. Very friendly. Hope to see you all next year."

Joan & John Norfolk July 2011

 

"Once again we’ve had a lovely time. The lodge is as always superb. Your friendliness and hospitality is excellent. Hope to see you both again next year."

Elizabeth & Kevin Norfolk July 2011

 

"Many, many thanks for all the effort and hard work, you both always give 110%. We’ve had a wonderful holiday and the lodge, scenery and bird watching was superb, even the weather was perfect."

Shelagh & Honer Bootle June 2011

 

"Back again to continue our long-standing love affair with the area. All these years and we find something new to see and do every time we come. The latest must see is Stanton Lacy Saxon Church, Thank you Shakespeares all!"

 Those Millers again! E.Port Cheshire June 2011

 

"Another lovely holiday in your superb cabin. Thank you Dorothy & Clive for all your hard work and your hospitality" 

Barbara & John Cheshire June 2011

 

"What a wonderful place everything needed and more. The fresh eggs were lovely too. We will be back!!"

(View John's Photo Gallery

John & Doreen Colin & Elaine Essex June 2011

 

"Thank you for making us so welcome we have had a wonderful time, Hope to see you again soon. Thanks"

Mary & Bob Essex June 2011

 

"We discovered Acorn Lodge on the internet and what a find! A comfortable well equipped home from home in a superb setting. We feel that we have made new friends with Clive and Dorothy and enjoyed our chats with them. Thanks also for all the help and advise you gave us. We enjoyed our visits to Arley, Great Witley Church, Bridgnorth to mention a few as well as the wonderful walks here."

(See News Article - Latest Guest Describes our Corner of Shropshire for a wonderful write up

and view his photos in Steve's Gallery

Steve and Joyce Norfolk May 2011

 

"Thank you for the warm welcome. Acorn Lodge must be the cleanness, best equipped holiday home that we have stayed in. The setting is beautiful, your hospitality second to none .(bringing our washing in when it rained) and so much to see. Thank you for a lovely week Clive and Dorothy" 

Tracy & Graham David & Wendy Abergaveny May 2011

 

"Thank you for a wonderful week. Lovely accommodation beautiful views sunny weather what more could one ask. Thank you very much Dorothy & Clive"

Maria & Adrian Surrey May 2011

 

"So lucky to have perfect weather all week to compliment our lovely stay in your cosy lodge. Many thanks for hospitality and generosity and especially with Emily. We loved joining the village community in the celebration of the Royal Wedding."

(See News Article - Hope Bagot Celebrates Royal Wedding

Steve, Mandy & Emily Newbury April 2011

 

"A fabulous week exceeded our expectations. Thank you for your warm hospitality, the lodge is great. No one could come here and not have a fabulous relaxing time. Heavenly place heavenly hosts!" 

Robert & Louise Suffolk April 2011

 

"Thank you Dorothy & Clive for such a warm friendly welcome and an excellent weekend break. We had a fantastic time at Acorn Lodge, the accomodation was excellent, immaculate and everything was well thought out. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to stay there again."

Helen March 2011

 

"A wonderful stay. Acorn Lodge makes you feel at a home from the very first evening. Dorothy & Clive so friendly and the Lodge is perfect and great for toddlers too. We had friends stay one night and my Dad for another 2 nights and both impressed by the Lodge We got out and about each day and kept returning to the brilliant Ludlow Castle Tea Rooms and enjoyed the Bingo at Ludlow Assembly rooms (Every Wednesday 1.30-4.30pm) Bridgnorth & the Cliff Railway, Ironbridge the Severn Valley railway and Croft Castle as recommended by Clive. We've had fantastic time and loved the log fire and watching the birds feed outside the front window. And the views are magnificent. Would love to come back."

 Paul Sue & Katherine Lancs February 2011 

 

"Great stay but a little short, well worth journey from Scotland"

Brian & Ruth Scotland February 2011

 

"Grabbed a window in the big freeze Shropshire and the Shakespeare's - wonderful to us."

Millers again Ellesmere Port December 2010.

 

"Thank You Dorothy & Clive for such a fantastic holiday, so peaceful and relaxing and the cabin is a wonderful haven. Such beautiful countryside, so many walks and the wildlife is superb. Hope to see you both next year.Thank you so much for everything."

Val & Mike - Leicestershire October 2010

 

 

"It's been wonderful to return for the third time this year to such a peaceful spot. We'll be back 2011 look forward to returning to meet Dorothy & Clive"

Peter & Katie - Burnsville

 

"This was our first time here and its perfect home from home. Very helpful hosts. Thank you very much"

Richard & Rosemarie - Liverpool October 2010

 

"We had a great holiday thank you Clive and Dorothy See you next year"

John and Joan - Norfolk September 2010

 

"We had a lovely few days lovely to see you both again, Hope to see you next year"

Elizabeth & Kevin - Norfolk September 2010

 

"Another wonderful holiday thanks to Clive, Dorothy Mark and family The cabin is a real haven to come to. Enjoyed the fruit as well as the company and hospitality"

Brian Lesley & Cath - Cheshire September 2010

 

"Lovely from start to finish. Thank You"

Elaine and Martin - Surrey September 2010

 

"Another wonderful holiday. The friendly welcome from Dorothy and Clive and the excellent finishes made this another memorable week at Acorn Lodge beautiful"

Shropshire. Shelagh & Honer - Bootle August 2010

 

"Excellent once again. Thank you Dorothy & live for another warm welcome and of course this wonderful cabin. peaceful and relaxing"

Mary & Neil - West Lancs August 2010

 

"As above. Welcome as good as ever, many thanks"

Maureen and Michael - Southport August 2010

 

"Thank you for such a friendly welcome, the cabin is lovely - great views"

Steve Julie & Matthew- Reading August 2010

 

"We had a fabulous time. The cottage is superb best we've every stayed in and the hospitality is marvelous"

Mike & Gill - Middlesborough Aug 2010

 

"Wonderful to be back at Acorn Lodge our favourite holiday retreat."

Katie & Peter - Bourneville July 2010

 

"Perfect for a disabled person, especially the wet room and the high chairs, we were very comfortable."

John and Caroline - Hampshire July 2010

 

"Our 1st visit to Acorn Lodge but Dorothy & Clive greeted us like old friends. It was as warm as could be. We enjoyed the Lodge, warm weather and outings to Stokesay Castle, Action Scott and Leominster etc. Thanks also for sightings during badger watch."

Joan Perry, Carole & Brian Henderson Leamington Spa June/July 2010

 

"As usual. A fantastic holiday warmth of weather only matched by warmth of welcome. We need to put an elastic gusset in our fortnight to fit in half what we'd like to do. Thanks to all."

Millers (again) 18th year Cheshire June 2010

 

"Superb in every way. Wonderful stay. Weather fantastic. Look for your name in lights!!"

Mary & Neil Jamieson June 2010

 

 

"Great welcome. Cabin wonderful, you have thought of everything. Appreciated badger watch and hospitality. will certainly recommend and hope to return soon."

Maureen & Mike Collins Ainsdale May/June 2010

 

 "Lovely welcome with warm scones and jam and eggs. A really nice well equipped Lodge with fantastic views. A great relaxing holiday. Thank You."

Ray & Hilda Frost, Bury Lancs. May 2010

 

"Thank you for a very comfortable cabin. We saw lovely places & had great weather. What more could you ask!"

John & Ann Christine & Joyce West Yorkshire May 2010

 

"We've had a lovely week Dorothy & Clive were lovely, good weather and great outdoors."

Alex, Maureen Brenda & Eddie April 2010

 

"Had a wonderful stay. We hadn't realised that there was as much to do in Shropshire. Mr & Mrs Shakespeare were lovely and helpful. Gareth loved the badger watching and feeding the cows. We will be back!"

Ian, Joanne Gareth, Emma Greenshields Ashington Northumberland April 2010

 

"What a gem is Acorn Lodge. We have had wonderful hospitality and kindness. We look forward to seeing you again. Such views too!!"

Katie & Peter Green, Philip & Ruth Green Bournville Birmingham March 2010

 

"Fantastic Lodge, Fantastic weather Spring at last!! Thank you for a wonderful 4 days break"

John & Freda Crane Norfolk March 2010

 

 More Testimonials 

"We're back again!! The Lodge makes a perfect valentines getaway!!"

Woody and Clare Haxby Berkshire

 

"What a beautiful place! very peacefull we loved waking up in the countryside! Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your home and lodge we are already planning our next visit!"

Laura & David Southport

 

 "A very beautiful place, peaceful and delightfully pleasant stay, thanks so very much" 

Smith    Berkshire

 

"Fantastic facilities beautiful surroundings and very friendly proprietors. The best place we've ever stayed in. Will book early for next year."

Haxby   Berkshire

 

"Another wonderful holiday plus Jane's birthday party plus local friends can't thank you enough see you next Summer"

 Miller  Cheshire

 

"A very nice holiday, in a very nice well equipped cabin! Thank you very much, Hope to return some time"

Priestly Bournemouth

 

"Our first time here. A super holiday home set in lovely surroundings. The peace and tranquillity here with the panoramic views were very special. And thank you Dorothy & Clive for being so friendly and welcoming."

 

"Here we are again, a perfect 2 weeks as usual. Super Cabin. Hols too short. Till Next Year"

 

"Brisbane, Australia / Wonderful Hosts! Beautiful Cabin/ Lots of Love here!!! Xxxx"

 

"The caravan was a blessing in this beautiful tranquil place but Acorn Lodge is blessing in abundance! We think its brilliant thank you Clive & Dorothy for all your hard work.xx"

 

 

" Sorry about the caravan. They say that grass is greener on the other side! In this case it certainly is. See you again soon"

 

" We were sorry to see the caravan go but what a replacement! Thank you Dorothy & Clive for all your hard and amazing work to finish the cabin to such a high standard and enable us to still enjoy the view, peace, comfort and tranquillity of Thomas House. Thank you very much."

 

"sad to leave the caravan after 22 years but the cabin is wonderful. All mod cons, everything we could wish for. See you soon."

 

"Great Cabin, Homely and Smashing Beds. Couldn't wish for a more comfortable holiday home. Cant find fault with any part of it. Hope to see you next year. Good Luck."

 

"Absolutely great cabin, really homely. Comfy beds, all furnished to a high standard. Had lovely 5 day break. Have been into Wales twice. We will return."

 

"First Class accommodation with all mod cons, Can not fault it at all"

 

"Everything that it promised, its lived up to. Only the time refused to pass any slower than in the caravan. A triumph everyone concerned has a lot to be proud of. Plus the views, the weather, and the badgers. South Shropshire is as close to heaven as I'll get."

 

" A very peaceful relaxing holiday. Everything superb and a warm welcome. Definitely the cleanest holiday home yet!"